ART WORKS, Carlow Arts Festival, VISUAL, Carlow, 10-19 June, 2016

10 to 19 June 2016

selected by Annie Fletcher, Senior Curator, Van Abbe Museum, Eindhoven & Claire Feeley, Producer Barbican, London,

ART WORKS Prize Awards Party: 16 June, 8pm

Carlow Arts Festival and VISUAL Carlow present ART WORKS, the 37th annual open submission exhibition and art prize. Running for 10 days at VISUAL and St Patrick’s College, in a quick burst, this exhibition celebrates the energy, creative power and diversity of visual arts practices in Ireland. It features work by artists selected from open submission:

Doireann Ní Ghrioghair, Jenny Brady, Jennifer Trouton, Gabhann Dunne, Susan Mac William, Bennie Reilly, Bridget O’Gorman, Tom Climent, Marcel Vidal, Mark P Cullen, Martina O’Brien, Bartosz Kolata, David Beattie, Paul Hallahan, Helen Blake, Stephen Morris, Robert Dunne, Blaise Smith, Susan Connolly, Katie Watchorn, Tracy White Fitzgerald, Tom Climent, Patrick Redmond, Paddy Joe Rickard, Michelle Deignan, Maria O’Brien, Mella Travers, Michelle Browne, Hanneke van Ryswyk, Hugh McGettigan, Cecile Johnson Soliz, Jane Rainey, Vera Ryklova, Rebecca Bradley, Alan Phelan, Lee Welch, Seán Guinan, Samuel Tobin, Roisin Lewis, Anna Boyle, Gypsy Ray, Tommie Lehane, Paul Mosse, Tom Fitzgerald, Mandy O Niell, Jonathan Mayhew, Tia Vellani, Kate Nolan, Michelle Byrne, Meghan Heeney, Gregory Sean Sheehan, Richard Carr, Kevin Gaffney and Joan Sugrue.

as well as 5 invited artists; Stephen McKenna, Denis McNulty, Aideen Barry, Jaki Irvine and Brian Duggan.

This year ART WORKS has been selected by Annie Fletcher, Senior Curator, Van Abbe Museum, Eindhoven and Claire Feeley, Producer Barbican, London.

Photo credit: Aisling McCoy — with Emma Lucy O’ Brien, Jo Mangan, Katie Watchorn, David Morgan, Alan Phelan, Barbara Dawson, Ann Mulrooney, Hotron Ireland Ltd., Carlow Arts Festival and Hugh Lane Gallery.

In recent years ARTWORKS has established two art prizes, The HOTRON Award for an outstanding piece of work and the Éigse Prize for work by a recent graduate. Both prizes are sponsored by Hotron Ltd.

“Congratulations to this year’s Hotron Éigse prize winner Alan Phelan and Katie Watchorn, Hotron sponsored Art Prize, pictured at the opening of the VISUAL summer exhibition.”








VISUAL, Old Dublin Road, Carlow
T: +353 59 917 2400